The Rock Stars of Emergency Nursing Celebrate Their Achievements

Emergency Nursing 2023 celebrated the rock stars of the specialty on Sept. 22 at the Hall of Honor Reception and the Academy of Emergency Nursing Dinner and Induction Ceremony, commending these remarkable nurses for their achievements in advancing emerging nursing.

Diane Salentiny Wrobleski, PhD, RN, CEN, ACNS-BC, RN-BC, and Joa
Diane Salentiny Wrobleski, PhD, RN, CEN, ACNS-BC, RN-BC, and Joan Somes, PhD, RN-BC, CEN, CPEN, FAEN, are members of the Minnesota ENA State Council, which received the State Council Achievement Award.

The Hall of Honor Reception recognized these trailblazers and innovators, who are featured in the Hall of Honor at the San Diego Convention Center. ENA President Terry Foster heralded the recipients in the following categories:

  • Fourteen nurses, the family of a nurse, one ENA state council and a team of trauma nurse leaders at a Texas hospital received the ENA Achievement Awards, which are presented to those who exemplify professional practice, innovation, leadership and advocacy.
  • The Journal of Emergency Nursing Awards were bestowed on 17 authors and reviewers who made significant contributions to ENA’s peer-reviewed journal. In addition, Gordon Gillespie, PhD, DNP, RN, CEN, CNE, CPEN, PHCNS-BC, FAEN, FAAN, was honored with the journal’s inaugural award for significant contributions, which recognized his work as interim editor-in-chief in 2022 and guest editor of the May 2023 issue focused on workplace violence.
  • M. Christien van der Linden received the ePoster award for her research on the “Effects of Process Changes on Emergency Department Crowding in a Changing World: An Interrupted Time-Series Analysis.”
  • Fifty-three emergency departments received Lantern Awards, which recognize EDs that exemplify exceptional practice and innovative performance in leadership, practice, education, advocacy and research.
  • Nine ENA state councils received the State Council Achievement Awards, which honor ENA state councils achieving best practices and organizational excellence in association management, including administration and governance, communications and public relations, education, membership, and advocacy/government affairs.
  • The State Council Innovative Project Award went to the Washington ENA State Council for commissioning an art piece titled “We Catch You When You Fall,” which honors and expresses appreciation for the efforts of emergency nurses.
  • Howard “Bill” Miller, BSN, RN, PHRN, NRENTP, and Diane M. Schertz, BS, RN, FAEN, received the ENA Foundation Keystone Award, which recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions of time, resources and funding to the Foundation over the course of their lifetime. 
  • Diane Schertz, BS, RN, FAEN, and four ENA state councils are the recipients of the ENStrong Challenge Award, which honors individuals as well as state councils and local chapters that raise funds for the ENA Foundation’s scholarships and grants.

Attendees reveled in the Hall of Honor Reception’s festive, celebratory atmosphere. They enjoyed getting to know their fellow award recipients and learning about their innovative programs and practices in a fun setting.

Olivia Sgambeucre, BSN, RN, CEN, and Ashley Caceres, MSN, RN, ar
Olivia Sgambeucre, BSN, RN, CEN, and Ashley Caceres, MSN, RN, are nurse leaders at The Mount Sinai Hospital in New York City, a recipient of a Lantern Award.

“It’s the opportunity to really celebrate this achievement on a national level. We’ve done a lot of celebrating internally as a department and as a hospital,” said Ashley Caceres, MSN, RN, director of nursing for emergency services at The Mount Sinai Hospital in New York City, which won a Lantern Award. “So, actually coming here and getting to interact with other hospitals, other award winners, getting to dress up, get fancy for the night — it’s really special.”

“It’s definitely great to be around other award winners and the positivity that everyone’s feeling. The morale is high. Spirits are really high,” said The Mount Sinai Hospital Interim Nurse Manager of Emergency Services Olivia Sgambeucre, BSN, RN, CEN. “We have a tough job. It’s not every day that we get to celebrate all the highs. So, to be around other people that are celebrating the same successes that we’ve had has been really special. And it’s been really good for morale and good energy for our own department.”

Other attendees echoed Sgambeucre’s sentiments. Because the staffing shortage and burnout continue to plague emergency nursing, attendees said they particularly appreciated that ENA honored and recognized their hard work and dedication to emergency nursing with these awards.

“Recognition is important. Nurses need to be recognized, especially for doing a good job,” said Joan Somes, PhD, RN-BC, CEN, CPEN, FAEN, secretary for the Minnesota ENA State Council, which won a State Council Achievement Award. “It brings satisfaction. I know we’re doing a pretty good job, but it’s nice to see ENA recognizes it.”

ENA also welcomed the 2023 class of Academy of Emergency Nursing Fellows at the academy’s dinner and induction ceremony.

According to emcee and 2023 AEN Chairperson Andi Foley, DPN, APRN-CNS, EMT, CEN, FAEN, “These amazing emergency nurses exemplify the excellence ENA aims to bring to the emergency nursing community.”

The eight Fellows inducted this year were honored for their enduring contributions to the emergency nursing specialty while also advancing the profession over their long careers:

  • Barbara Baldwin, RN
  • Michael Callihan Jr., PhD, RN, CEN, NRP
  • Kathy Van Dusen, MSN, RN, CEN, CPEN, NHDP-BC
  • Mark Goldstein, MSN, BSN, RN, EMT-P I/C
  • Shawntay Harris, MSN, MHA, MBA, RN, NEA-BC, NE-BC, CEN, CPEN, CFRN, CTRN, TCRN
  • Matthew Howard, DNP, RN, CEN, CPEN, CPN, TCRN
  • Jacob Miller, DNP, MBA, NP, CNS, NRP

Harris made AEN history as the first Black person to be honored as an AEN Fellow since AEN was established in 2004. In that time, more than 200 outstanding nurses have been recognized as AEN Fellows.

Foley noted that Harris’ enduring and substantial contributions to emergency nursing are in education and leadership. “She demonstrates the ingenuity of the entrepreneurial spirit as a professional influencer via multiple domains,” she said.

“For those of you who have come to the Academy before me, I want to thank you for lighting the path for me to follow,” Harris told the audience. “I am the first, but I will not be the last. Thank you.”

All honorees had a moment to talk about what the honor meant to them, including Callihan, Jr., who noted that 25 years ago on a beach in San Diego, a lieutenant looked at him and said, “You’re going to change the world.”

“Before I could tell him that he changed my world, he was killed in combat,” he said. “So, to come home and to receive this honor, it means a whole lot.” 

To learn more about the Fellows and the other award recipients, visit